Council for Catechetics of the Irish Catholic Bishops’ Conference

This Council comes under the Episcopal Commission for Catholic Education and Formation

Contact details

Council for Catechetics of the Irish Catholic Bishops’ Conference
Columba Centre, Maynooth, Co Kildare
Tel: +353 (0) 1 5053140
Fax: +353 (0) 1 6016401

Related Content

To view content and features on this site related to Catechetics click the following tag



The members of the Catechetics Council are

Bishop Brendan Leahy (Chair)
Bishop William Crean
Ms Maura Hyland
Mgr Dermot A Lane
Dr Alexander O’Hara (National Director & Executive Secretary)
Dr Gerry O’Connell
Dr Cora O’Farrell
Ms Hilda Campbell
Father Edward McGee
Sister Antoinette Dilworth
Ms Olivia Dolan
Ms Lily Barry
Dr Aiveen Mullally
Dr Daniel O’Connell 

The Council draws from a variety of sources of expertise to help inform its proceedings.


The Council for Catechetics is one of the councils in the Department of Catholic Education and Formation. The Catechetics Council articulates policy and vision for the catechetical needs of Ireland, North and South, on behalf of the Episcopal Conference. It liaises with the Episcopal Commission for Education, other Commissions of the Bishops’ Conference and with other bodies and individuals in the area of catechesis and Religious Education.