About Us

The Irish Catholic Bishops’ Conference (also known as the Irish Episcopal Conference) is the assembly of the Bishops of Ireland exercising together certain pastoral offices for Christ’s faithful on the whole island of Ireland.

The Conference enables the Bishops to exchange views, and share their wisdom and experience in order to promote the common good of the Church in Ireland. General Meetings of the Irish Catholic Bishops’ Conference normally take place on a quarterly basis.

The Irish Catholic Bishops’ Conference seeks to build effective consensus among the Bishops, thereby contributing to the unity of the Church in communion with Pope Francis.  Through its links with the Church in neighbouring countries and across the world, it strengthens and enriches efforts to increase faith and proclaim the Gospel message to all nations. At the same time, the Conference fully respects the personal authority, responsibility and ministry of each individual Bishop within his own diocese.


To help it fulfil its aims more effectively, the Irish Catholic Bishops’ Conference has established various Episcopal Commissions, departments, councils, agencies, councils and other bodies which focus on specific tasks and areas of responsibility within the mission of the Church. Day to day operations are overseen by a secretariat.

The five Episcopal Commissions are as follows:

You can see in the FOOTER the various councils and agencies that come under the five Episcopal Commissions.

Click here to download a booklet offering An Introduction to the Pastoral Work of the Irish Catholic Bishops’ Conference 


The current membership of the Irish Bishops’ Conference comprises the Bishops (or Diocesan Administrators) of the 26 dioceses of Ireland together with the four auxiliary Bishops.

Archbishop Eamon Martin, Archbishop of Armagh and Primate of All-Ireland

Archbishop Diarmuid Martin, Archbishop of Dublin and Primate of Ireland

Episcopal Secretary
Bishop Kieran O’Reilly, Archbishop of Cashel and Emly 

Finance Secretary
Bishop Dermot Farrell, Bishop of Ossory

Standing Committee (2019-2022) 

Archbishop Eamon Martin (President)
Archbishop Diarmuid Martin (Vice President) 
Archbishop Kieran O’ Reilly (Episcopal Secretary)
Bishop Dermot Farrell (Finance Secretary) 
Archbishop Michael Neary
Bishop John Fleming (Chairman, Planning, Communications and Resources)
Bishop Noel Treanor (Chairman, Commission for Social Issues and International Affairs) 
Bishop Donal McKeown (Chairman, Commission for Worship, Pastoral Renewal and Faith Development) 
Bishop Brendan Leahy (Chairman, Commission for Catholic Education and Formation)
Bishop Denis Nulty (Chairman, Commission for Pastoral Care) 
Bishop William Crean
Bishop Alan McGuckian 


Contact details

Irish Catholic Bishops’ Conference
Columba Centre
Co. Kildare
Tel: +353 (0)1 505 3000
Fax: +353 (0)1 601 6401
Email: [email protected]

Hierarchy General Purposes Trust is a registered charity (20009861). 

The IEC provides external links as convenience to our users. The appearance of external links does not constitute endorsement by IEC of the information, products or services contained therein.