Council for Communications of the Irish Catholic Bishops’ Conference

This Council comes under the Episcopal Commission for Planning Communications and Resources.  The Episcopal members of the Council are:


Archbishop Eamon Martin (Chairman)
Archbishop Francis Duffy (ex officio)
Bishop Alphonsus Cullinan
Bishop Paul Dempsey

The Catholic Communications Office is accountable to the Council for Communications.

Catholic Communications Office

Father Paul Clayton-Lea, Editor of Intercom magazine
Tel: +353 (1) 505 3000
Fax: +353 (1) 601 6413
Email:[email protected]

Martin Long, Director
Tel: +353 (1) 505 3010
Mobile: +353 (0) 86 172 7678
Email: [email protected]

Crysta Gunn, Senior Communications Officer
Tel: +353 (1) 505 3055
Mobile: +353 (0) 83 041 8275
Email: [email protected]

Chah Garde, Communications Officer
Tel: +353 (1) 505 3017
Email: [email protected] 

Communications Office
Email: [email protected] 


The mission of the Catholic Communications Office (CCO) is to provide, on behalf of the Irish Catholic Bishops’ Conference and its agencies and commissions, a professional communications team, to serve the faithful, media, national and international Church organisations, other faiths and the voluntary, public and private sectors, so as to help convey the Christian message of the Gospel.

The CCO also assists the press office of the Holy See, bishops, diocesan communications officers and seminarians with the promotion of the Church’s pastoral work through the means of social communication.

There are 26 dioceses on the island of Ireland and, upon request, the CCO operates as the press office for dioceses on issues requiring national publicity.

In relation to news promotion, the staff of the CCO work in partnership with the designated Diocesan Communications Officer of each diocese. The CCO also responds to information requests from the media and the public on local and regional Church issues and, as appropriate, the CCO refers diocesan-specific queries to the relevant diocese.

The CCO is accountable to the Council for Communications of the Irish Catholic Bishops’ Conference.