Galway, Kilmacduagh & Kilfenora


The diocese of Galway, Kilmacduagh and Kilfenora includes portions of Counties Galway, Mayo and Clare. Kilfenora is in the province of Cashel but the Bishop of Galway and Kilmacduagh is its apostolic administrator.

Facts and figures

Catholic population: 105,707
Parishes: 39
Churches: 71
Patrons of the diocese:
Galway: Our Lady Assumed into Heaven – 15 August
Kilmacduagh: St Colman – 29 October
Kilfenora: St Fachanan – 20 December

Bishop of Galway, Kilmacduagh and Kilfenora

Bishop Brendan Kelly


Contact the diocese

Diocesan Office, The Cathedral, Gaol Road, Galway. 
Tel: +353 (0)91 563 566

Services and agencies of the Bishops’ Conference based in the diocese

ACCORD Centres
Galway: Pastoral Centre, Áras de Brún, Newtownsmith, Galway Tel: 091 562331

The IEC provides external links as convenience to our users. The appearance of external links does not constitute endorsement by IEC of the information, products or services contained therein.