Ardagh & Clonmacnois


The diocese of Ardagh & Clonmacnois includes nearly all of County Longford, the greater part of County Leitrim and parts of Counties Cavan, Offaly, Roscommon, Sligo and Westmeath.

Facts and figures

Catholic population: 71806
Parishes: 41
Churches: 80
Patrons of the Diocese: St Mel – 7 February.

Bishop of Ardagh & Clonmacnois


Contact the diocese

St Michael’s, Longford, Co. Longford
Tel: +353 (0)43 334 6432

Services and agencies of the Bishops’ Conference based in the diocese

ACCORD Centres

Athlone: ‘Alverna’ Northgate Street Athlone Co Westmeath Tel: 0906 475491
Longford: ‘Tealloch Iosa’, St Mel’s Road, Longford, 043 47222

The IEC provides external links as convenience to our users. The appearance of external links does not constitute endorsement by IEC of the information, products or services contained therein.