Permanent Diaconate

The Council of the Permanent Diaconate of the Irish Catholic Bishops’ Conference

This Council comes under the Council for Clergy under the Episcopal Commission for Worship, Pastoral and Faith Development

Contact details

Chairperson Council for the Clergy
Bishop Raymond Browne
Bishop’s House
Co Kerry
Tel: 064-6631168
Email: [email protected] 

National Director of the Permanent Diaconate

National Focus Group on the Permanent Diaconate
Bishop Raymond Browne

Bishop Michael Duignan 

National Training Authority for the Permanent Diaconate
Bishop Raymond Browne (Chairperson)

Related Content

Related Content

To view content on this site related to the Permanent Diaconate, click on the following tag



In 2001 the Irish Episcopal Conference received permission from the Holy See to proceed with the restoration of the Permanent Diaconate in Ireland. In 2005 approval was received for the document The Permanent Diaconate: National Directory and Norms for Ireland and this document was subsequently published by the Irish Bishops. These norms were approved for a further five years in 2011.

In March 2009 the Bishops appointed a national training authority to approve and monitor formation for permanent deacons in this country. This body ensures that the preparation of candidates for ordination to the diaconate is in keeping with the expectations of the Church. It is chaired by Bishop Raymond Browne.


The IEC provides external links as convenience to our users. The appearance of external links does not constitute endorsement by IEC of the information, products or services contained therein.