Bishop Paul Connell announces clerical appointments for the Diocese of Ardagh and Clonmacnois

25 Aug 2023

  • Bishop Paul Connell of Ardagh and Clonmacnois has announced the following clerical appointments for the diocese to take effect from Sunday 1 Oct next.

Father Gerry O’Brien, PP Bornacoola to retire.
Father John Wall, PP Annaduff to retire.
Father Tomas Flynn, PP Kiltubrid to retire.

In light of the ongoing shortage of available clergy for appointment, the diocese is adopting a strategic plan to cluster parishes in order to provide pastoral care going forward.

Accordingly, the parish of Annaduff and Kiltubrid are being clustered with Carrick-on-Shannon.

Father Frank Garvey, PP Carrick-on-Shannon, is appointed Administrator of the parishes of Annaduff and Kiltubrid.

Father Ciaran McGuiness, MAfr, is appointed CC Carrick on Shannon.

Father Sean Burke, CC Mohill and Fenagh, is appointed Administrator of the parish of Bornacoola.

Father Joseph Ukut, CC Longford, is appointed CC of parishes of Mohill and Fenagh.

I wish to sincerely thank Father Gerry O’Brien, Father John Wall and Father Tamas Flynn for their many years of dedicated pastoral work, in a variety of parishes in the Diocese of Ardagh and Clonmacnois.

I wish those who are taking up appointments every success and happiness in their new responsibilities.

+Paul Connell
Bishop of Ardagh and Clonmacnois