Twelve seminarians to begin priesthood studies at Saint Patrick’s College Maynooth

26 Aug 2012

Twelve seminarians to begin priesthood studies at Saint Patrick’s College Maynooth

Today Saint Patrick’s College Maynooth, the National Seminary for Ireland, welcomed twelve seminarians who will commence their formation for the priesthood.

At the conclusion of the ‘Introductory Programme’ at the end of September, three of the new seminarians from Northern dioceses will continue their studies at Saint Malachy’s College in Belfast.

Welcoming the new candidates for the priesthood, their families and friends to Maynooth, the President of the College, Monsignor Hugh Connolly, said: “As you begin your formation journey I wish you every blessing during this privileged time for discernment, for learning, for vocation, for praying, for listening and for being especially close to Our Lord in the word of Sacred Scripture, in the faith of the Church, in your participation in the Liturgy and in your service of others.

“This has been a particularly memorable year for the Church in Ireland as we played host to the successful 50th International Eucharistic Congress which took place in June.  As the Universal Church prepares to celebrate a special ‘Year of Faith’, which will mark the 50th anniversary of the opening of the Second Vatican Council in October, may the year ahead be an opportunity for all of us to appreciate the gift of our faith, deepen our relationship with God and strengthen our commitment to sharing our faith with others.”


Notes for Editors

  • A breakdown, by diocese, of the twelve first year seminarians for 2012 is: Clogher (1), Cloyne (1), Down & Connor (2), Dublin (3), Ferns (1), Kerry (2), Meath (1), Raphoe (1).  At the end of September the total number of seminarians in Maynooth will be approximately 64.
  • Saint Patrick’s College, Maynooth, has been forming men for the priesthood since 1795.  The College comprises the seminary and the Pontifical University, which offers degrees in theology, philosophy and theology and arts.  The Trustees of the College are the Governing Body of the College. The membership is defined by successive Acts of Parliament. The current Trustees are the four Archbishops of Ireland together with 13 other senior bishops.
  •  Over the last five years the number of new seminarians beginning their studies in Maynooth has been: 18 in 2011; 10 in 2010; 24 in 2009; 14 in 2008; 18 in 2007.
  • The final figure for the number of seminarians in the 2012 entry class will be confirmed in December after the students complete the class retreat and the ‘Introductory Programme’.
  • See for an electronic map of the 26 dioceses of Ireland.

Further information:
President’s Office, St Patrick’s College, Maynooth. Tel: 00 353 1 708 3958.  Fax: 01 708 3959.  Email: [email protected]
Martin Long, Director of the Catholic Communications Office 00 353 86 172 7678.