Special Cathedral Masses commemorating the late Pope John Paul II

04 Apr 2005


4 APRIL 2005



The following UPDATED arrangements have been made by bishops for special
Masses/liturgies to commemorate the late Pope John Paul II over the next week:

5th Tuesday
17:45. Archbishop of Dublin Dr Diarmuid Martin in the Pro Cathedral, Dublin city.
19:30. Archbishop of Cashel Dr Dermot Clifford in the Cathedral of the Assumption, Thurles.
19:30 Bishop of Down & Connor Dr Patrick Walsh in St Peter’s Cathedral, Belfast.

6th Wednesday
19:30 Apostolic Administrator of Ferns, Bishop Eamonn Walsh in the Immaculate
Conception Church, Rowe Street, Wexford town.
19:30 Bishop of Galway Dr James McLoughlin in the Cathedral of Our Lady Assumed
into Heaven and St Nicholas, in Galway city.
19:30 Bishop of Ossory Dr Laurence Forristal in St Mary’s Cathedral, Kilkenny.
20:00 Bishop of Clonfert Dr John Kirby in St Brendan’s Cathedral, Loughrea.
20:00 Bishop of Achrony Dr Thomas Flynn in the Cathedral of the Annunciation and
St Nathy.

7th Thursday:
19:30 Bishop of Cork & Ross Dr John Buckley in St. Mary and St. Anne, Cork
(The “North Cathedral”).
19:30 Bishop of Meath Dr Michael Smith in the Cathedral of Christ the King,
19:30 Bishop of Waterford & Lismore Dr William Lee in Holy Trinity Cathedral, Waterford.
19:30 Mgr. Dan Carr, Vicar General of the Diocese of Raphoe will be the main
celebrant in the Cathedral of St Eunan and St Columba, Letterkenny.
19:30 Bishop of Limerick Dr Donal Murray in St John’s Cathedral, Limerick.
20:00 Bishop of Dromore Dr John McAreavey in the Cathedral of St Patrick and
St Colman, Newry.

Further information:

Martin Long Director of Communications (086 172 7678)
Brenda Drumm Communications Officer (087 233 7797)