The diocese of Achonry includes parts of Counties Mayo, Roscommon and Sligo.

Facts and figures

Catholic population: 34826
Parishes: 23
Churches: 47
Patrons of the Diocese: St Nathy – 9 August; St Attracta – 11 August.

Bishop of Achonry

Bishop Paul Dempsey


Contact the diocese

Bishop’s House, Ballaghaderreen, Co. Roscommon

Tel: +353 (0)94986 0034


Services and agencies of the Bishops’ Conference based in the diocese

Accord Centres
Charlestown: Pastoral Centre, Charlestown, Co Mayo, Tel: 094 9254944

The IEC provides external links as convenience to our users. The appearance of external links does not constitute endorsement by IEC of the information, products or services contained therein.