Archbishop Michael Neary announces clerical appointments for the Archdiocese of Tuam

20 Sep 2021

Archbishop Michael Neary, Archbishop of Tuam, has announced the following diocesan appointments and retirements for the Archdiocese of Tuam:

  • Rt Rev Monsignor John O’Boyle, Diocesan Education Secretary, to retire; 
  • Sr Mary Kenny, PBVM, Post Primary Catechetics, to retire;
  • Mrs Rosaleen Crowe-O’Neill to become Diocesan Education Secretary pro-tem;
  • Very Rev Joseph Canon Feeney, PP Ballinlough, to retire as PP and become AP Ballinlough;
  • Very Rev Pádraig Canon Standún, PP Carna, to retire;
  • Very Rev William Canon Reilly, PP An Cnoc, Indreabhán, to retire;
  • Very Rev Hughie Loftus, PP An Cheathrú Rua, to become, in addition, PP An Cnoc, Indreabhán;
  • Very Rev Stephen Canon Farragher, PP Ballyhaunis, to become, in addition, PP Ballinlough;
  • Very Rev Michael Molloy, PP Moore, to be Vicar Forane (VF) Tuam East Deanery;
  • Very Rev John Kenny, PP Partry, to be VF Ballinrobe Deanery;
  • Rev Shane Sullivan, CC Castlebar, to become PP Carna;
  • Rev Shane Costello, CC Westport, to become CC Castlebar;
  • Rev Clement McManus, CSsR, to be AP An Cnoc, Indreabhán;
  • Rev Christopher Clarke, OCD, to be CC Knock;
  • Rev Henry O’Connell, Congregation of the Oratory, York, UK, to be CC Westport.

In announcing this year’s appointments and retirements, Archbishop Neary said: “I take this opportunity to thank those who are retiring for their generous service, their availability to God and to the People of God, often in challenging times.  I pray God’s blessing, and the protection of Our Lady of Knock on those who are taking up new appointments in our Archdiocese.”


For media contact: Catholic Communications Office Maynooth: Martin Long +353 (0) 86 172 7678 and Oisín Walsh +353 (0) 86 167 9504.