Bishop Brendan Kelly announces clerical appointments for the Diocese of Galway, Kilmacduagh and Kilfenora

14 Aug 2019

Bishop Brendan Kelly, Bishop of Galway, Kilmacduagh and Kilfenora, has made the following diocesan appointments which will come into effect at noon on Friday 30 August 2019.

Very Rev Martin Dean Moran, Parish Priest of Killannin and Vicar Forane of Galway Rural Deanery, to retire and to be reappointed as Administrator of Killannin.

Very Rev Michael Canon McLoughlin, Parish Priest of Moycullen, to be Dean of the Diocesan Chapter and Vicar Forane of Galway Rural Deanery.

Very Rev Tadhg Quinn, Parish Priest of Knocknacarra, to be Canon of the Diocesan Chapter.

Rev Vivian Loughery, Administrator of Shrule, to be Parish Priest of Shrule.

Rev  Michael Bailey OFM, Curate of Salthill, to retire.

Rev Gerard McCarthy SVD to be Diocesan Pastoral Outreach Coordinator.


For media contact: Catholic Communications Office Maynooth: Martin Long 00353 (0) 86 172 7678 and Katie Crosby 00353 (0) 86 862 3298.