Annual meeting of the Irish Episcopal Conference and the Bishops of the Church of Ireland takes place in Dublin

27 Sep 2018

The annual meeting of representatives of the Irish Bishops’ Conference and the Bishops of the Church of Ireland was held in Dublin on Wednesday 26 September.

In an atmosphere of prayer and warm fellowship the Bishops:

  • shared impressions of the World Meeting of Families and the visit of Pope Francis;
  • reflected on the broad significance of the forthcoming commemoration of the 150th anniversary of the Disestablishment of the Church of Ireland;
  • following a brief presentation of the recent ARCIC document, Walking Together on the Way, agreed to study this text further together in the 2019 meeting.

There was also an informal wide-ranging discussion on topics of mutual interest such as homelessness and migrancy, education questions and the aftermath of recent referendums.

The 2019 meeting is planned for 25 September in Dublin.

Participating Bishops:

Church of Ireland:

The Most Revd. Richard Clarke, Archbishop of Armagh.

The Most Revd. Michael Jackson, Archbishop of Dublin.

The Most Revd. Pat Storey, Bishop of Meath and Kildare.

The Right Revd. Harold Miller, Bishop of Down and Dromore.

The Right Revd. Michael Burrows, Bishop of Cashel, Ferns and Ossory.

Roman Catholic Church:

Most Revd. Anthony Farquhar, Emeritus Auxiliary Bishop of Down and Connor.

Most Revd. John Fleming, Bishop of Killala.

Most Revd. Denis Nulty, Bishop of Kildare and Leighlin.

Most Revd. Kevin Doran, Bishop of Elphin.

Most Revd. Alan McGuckian, Bishop of Raphoe.

Most Revd. Brendan Leahy, Bishop of Limerick.                                                 

For media contact: Catholic Communications Office Maynooth: 00353 (0) 1 505 3017 and Katie Crosby 00353 (0) 86 862 3298


  • If you no longer wish to receive emails from the Catholic Communications Office, please let us know by emailing [email protected] and insert the word “Unsubscribe” in the subject box.