Media information for the Episcopal Ordination of Dermot Farrell as Bishop of Ossory

06 Mar 2018

You, or a representative, are invited to attend the celebration of Mass for the Episcopal Ordination of Monsignor Dermot Farrell as the new Bishop of Ossory.  Details:

Time and date            3.00pm Mass on Sunday 11 March 2018

Venue                         Saint Mary’s Cathedral, Kilkenny, Diocese of Ossory

In attendance             Laity, religious, clergy, family and guests

Media arrangements: media centre, broadcasting and photography
At 2.00pm on Sunday, Martin Long of the Catholic Communications Office will be available to brief journalists at the dedicated media centre located in the Cathedral Parish Office which is located on the grounds of Saint Mary’s Cathedral.  The media centre will be open until after the Mass and will offer internet access and refreshments.  Hard copies of the homily to be preached by Father Dan Cavanagh PP of Rosbercon, other addresses from the Mass, the ordination booklet (which contains details of the Liturgy and the biography of Bishop Farrell) and related information on the Diocese of Ossory will be available here.

The Ordination Mass will be livestreamed on and broadcast on 88.7FM

The diocese has retained Mr John McElroy as the official photographer for the Episcopal Ordination.  Media may contact Mr McElroy by telephone on 00353 (0) 87 241 6985 and/or by email on [email protected] to obtain photographs for publication purposes.  In addition, photographers are asked to please contact the CCO in Maynooth on [email protected] to apply for accreditation.

Following the conclusion of the Mass, and at the front door of the cathedral, Bishop Farrell will greet members of the congregation in person.  Media representatives will have an opportunity for photographs and a brief ‘door-step’ interview at this time.

Features of the Ordination ceremony, celebrants, preacher and in attendance
The Chief Ordaining Prelate will be Archbishop Diarmuid Martin, Archbishop of Dublin, who will be assisted by His Excellency Archbishop Jude Thaddeus Okolo, Papal Nuncio to Ireland, and Bishop Michael Smith, Bishop of Meath.  Father Dan Cavanagh PP Rosbercon, will read the Gospel.  The Apostolic Mandate from His Holiness Pope Francis will be read by Monsignor Michael Ryan, Administrator of the Diocese of Ossory.  Father Roderick Whearty PP of Saint Patrick’s Parish, will be the Master of Ceremonies for the Ordination Mass.  Cardinal Séan Brady, Archbishop Emeritus of Armagh will preside at the Mass.

Also concelebrating the Mass will be: Archbishop Eamon Martin, Archbishop of Armagh and Primate of All Ireland; Archbishop Kieran O’ Reilly SMA, Archbishop of Cashel & Emly; Archbishop Michael Neary, Archbishop of Tuam; Archbishop Dermot Clifford, Archbishop Emeritus of Cashel & Emly; Bishop Philip Boyce, Bishop Emeritus of Raphoe; Bishop Raymond Browne, Bishop of Kerry; Bishop William Crean, Bishop of Cloyne; Bishop Alphonsus Cullinan, Bishop of Waterford and Lismore; Bishop Kevin Doran, Bishop of Elphin; Bishop Raymond Field, Auxiliary Bishop of Dublin; Bishop Séamus Freeman SAC, Bishop Emeritus of Ossory; Bishop John Kirby, Bishop of Clonfert; Bishop Brendan Leahy, Bishop of Limerick; Bishop Denis Nulty, Bishop of Kildare and Leighlin; Bishop Michael Smith, Bishop of Meath; Bishop Eamon Walsh, Auxiliary Bishop of Dublin; Bishop William Lee, Bishop Emeritus of Waterford and Lismore; Monsignor Piotr Tarnawski, Deputy Head of Mission, Apostolic Nunciature; Monsignor Joseph McGuinness, Diocesan Administrator Diocese of Clogher; Dom Richard Purcell, Abbott, Mount Melleray Abbey. 

Also concelebrating the Ordination Mass will be priests of the Diocese of Ossory and Meath, and religious clergy located within and without the diocese. 

Representatives of other Christian denominations are also expected to be in attendance. 

In attendance at the Mass will be family and friends of Bishop Farrell; local and national public representatives from the constituency; representatives of Church groups from the Diocesan Pastoral Councils and Deanery Forums, representatives of civic society and parishioners from Dunboyne.

Music for the ceremony will be performed by a Diocesan Choir including choir members from of the choirs of the 42 parishes of the Diocese under the direction of Father Richard Scriven PP, Inistioge and Mr Sean O’Neill Director of Music at Saint Mary’s Cathedral, Kilkenny. 

Notes to Editors

  • His Holiness Pope Francis appointed Monsignor Dermot Farrell as Bishop of Ossory on 3 January 2018.  The Diocese of Ossory includes most of Co Kilkenny and portions of counties Laois and Offaly.  The Patron Saint of the diocese is Saint Kieran.  According to the Irish Catholic Directory 2018the diocese has a Catholic population of 84,729 and consists of 42 parishes and 89 churches.  There are 58 diocesan priests in active ministry in the diocese and 15 others who are currently working in other dioceses, retired, on study or on sick leave.  Living and working in the diocese, from religious congregations, there are 13 priests, 29 Brothers and 169 Sisters.  The Bishop of Ossory is patron of 86 primary schools, and there are 16 voluntary secondary schools and State schools in the diocese.
  • Please see below information on the life and ministry of Bishop Farrell:

Dermot Farrell was born on 22 November 1954 in Castletown-Geoghegan Parish, County Westmeath in the Diocese of Meath.  He was baptised Dermot Pius a few days later in the Cathedral of Christ the King, Mullingar.

1959 – 1967                Primary Schools in Castletown-Geoghegan and Streamstown.

1967 – 1972                Post-Primary Education at Saint Finian’s College (Diocesan Boarding School), Mullingar.

1972 – 1976                Bachelor of Science Degree at Saint Patrick’s College, Maynooth.

1976 – 1979                Bachelor of Divinity Degree at Maynooth.

1979 – 1981                Licence in Theology Degree at Maynooth.

7 June 1980                 Ordained priest for Diocese of Meath.

1981 – 1985                Curate, Cathedral Parish, Mullingar.

1985 – 1988                Doctorate Studies at Gregorian University, Rome.  Title of thesis: The Dogmatic Foundations of Bernard Haring’s Thought on Christian Morality – Director: Dr Philip Rosato S.I.

1987                            Director of Formation in Irish College, Rome.

1989 – 1990                Curate in Tullamore Parish and lecturer in Moral Theology at Maynooth.

1990                            Appointed Executive Assistant to the President in Maynooth, continuing to lecture in Moral Theology.

1993                            Appointed Vice-President of Saint Patrick’s College, Maynooth.

1996 – 2007                President of Saint Patrick’s College, Maynooth.

6 June 1997                 Honorary Prelate of His Holiness.

2007 – presently          Parish Priest of Dunboyne & Kilbride.

2009                            Vicar General to the Diocese of Meath.

For media contact: Catholic Communications Office Maynooth: Martin Long 00353 (0) 86 172 7678 and Katie Crosby 00353 (0) 86 862 3298