Bishop John McAreavey announces diocesan changes for the Diocese of Dromore

12 Oct 2016

Bishop John McAreavey, Bishop of Dromore has announced his diocesan changes for 2016.  Please see changes below:

Canon F Boyle has retired as P.P., Saval;

Canon G McCrory has retired as P.P., Magheradroll;

Father Colum Wright has resigned as P.P., Aghaderg and Adm., Donaghmore on health grounds; Father Wright will take up another pastoral assignment in the New Year.

Very Rev P J Murray, P.P., Dromore to be pastor emeritus, Dromore;

Very Rev Brian Brown, P.P., Magheralin to be PP, Magheradroll;

Very Rev Conor McConville, C.C., St Peter and St Paul’s parishes, Lurgan, to be P.P., Magheralin and P.P., Dromore; he will assist with school chaplaincies in Lurgan, as well the chaplaincy in Craigavon Area Hospital;

Rev Anthony Corr, C.C., Newry to be PP, Donaghmore and P.P., Aghaderg; he will assist with school chaplaincies in Newry;

Father Mario Jachym (Society of Christ) to be Adm, Saval; he will assist in Newry parish and, when necessary, in the Clonallon pastoral area. The priests of Newry parish will celebrate a Mass in Saval each weekend.

Rev Brendan Kearns, C.C. Kilbroney and Clonallon to be Adm., Kilbroney;

Very Rev Jarlath Cushenan, P.P., Clonduff and Very Rev Gerard Powell, P.P., Tullylish become members of the Cathedral Chapter.

For media contact: Catholic Communications Office Maynooth: Martin Long 00353 (0) 86 172 7678