Media information on the liturgical roles for today’s Episcopal Ordination Mass of Bishop Francis Duffy

06 Oct 2013

Today the Episcopal Ordination of the new Bishop of Ardagh & Clonmacnois, Bishop Francis Duffy, will take place at 3:00pm in Saint Mary’s Pro-Cathedral, Athlone, Co Westmeath in the Diocese of Ardagh & Clonmacnois.  Please see below details of the liturgical roles for the participants in this afternoon’s Ordination Mass:

Principal Ordaining Bishop: Cardinal Brady, Archbishop of Armagh and Primate of All Ireland

Co-Consecrators: His Excellency Archbishop Charles Brown, Apostolic Nuncio to Ireland and Bishop Colm O’ Reilly, (retiring) Bishop of Ardagh & Clonmacnois

Two supporting Priests: Father Tomas Flynn, classmate and Parish Priest Kiltubrid; Father Michael Router of the Diocese of Kilmore

Mandate will be read by Monsignor Bernard Noonan, Vicar General

Homily will be given by Father Peter Burke, Parish Priest Drumshanbo

Litany will be sung by Father Tom Murray, Diocesan Secretary

Parish representatives and guests: Canon Albert Kingston, Church of Ireland/ Representing the Bishop of Kilmore, Ardagh and Elphin; Reverend Graham Doyle, Church of Ireland/ Rector of Athlone group of Parishes which includes Clonmacnois; Reverend Paul Maxwell, Methodist from the Methodist Church in Longford

The following parish representatives will be introduced to the new bishop during today’s Ordination ceremony

Longford: Father Michael Bannon, Edgeworthstown; Sister Angela Clarkeson, Mercy Sister Longford; Father Padraig McGowan, Ballymahon; Ms Edel Kenny, Edgeworthstown

Granard: Father Simon Cadam; Sister Maeve Brady, Mercy Sister, Granard; Mr John Keegan, Mullinalaghta

Carrick on Shannon: Father Frank Garvey; Sister Ann O’Mahony, Marist Sister; Sister Tess Flynn, Keadue; Mr John Moran, Aughavas

Athlone: Father Michael Scanlon, Cloghan; Sister Joseph Fallon, Saint Joseph of Cluny, Ferbane; Ms Majella Hamm, Moate; Mr Aidan Keenaghan, Ferbane; Franciscan Father, Father Brian Allen; Presentation Sister, Sister Elizabeth Maxwell (Provincial); Marist Brother, Brother Gerard Cahill; Le Sainte Union Sister, Sister Denise

Liturgical roles 

Word of Welcome: Mr Davy Murray, Athlone Pastoral Council

Liturgical Commentator: Ms Sive McGuinness, Saint Mel’s College

Readings: 1st Reading: Oliver Kiernan, Granard; Psalm sung by Deirdre Higgins, Moate Community School; 2nd Reading: Clare McLoughlin, Mohill; Gospel, Father Tom Healy, Administrator of Saint Mel’s Cathedral, Longford

Symbols: (i) Episcopal ring of the new bishop: Sister Helen Keegan, Drumshanbo Parish Sister; (ii) Mitre: Ms Anita Allen, Director of Youth Ministry; (iii) Crozier: Mr Sean O’Reilly of Mullahoran Pastoral Council

Gifts Procession: Two family members of Bishop Francis and Ms Peggy Halton, Bishop’s Secretary; Ms Eileen Ward, Education Office; Sister Clare McNamara, Lourdes Pilgrimage Staff; Mr Gerry Reilly, Sacristan of Saint Mel’s Cathedral

Masters of Ceremony: Priests of Saint Mary’s Pro-Cathedral, Athlone

Choir: Saint Mary’s Church Choir with members of the Friary; Choir Conductor, Ms Giselle Foley; Organist, Sister Ann O’Flanagan; Uillean Pipes, Father Darragh Connolly, Diocese of Kilmore; Cantor, Mr Derek Mahady


For media contact: Catholic Communications Office Maynooth: Martin Long 00353 (0) 86 172 7678