Episcopal Ordination of Bishop-elect Monsignor Brendan Kelly for the Diocese of Achonry, Sunday 27 January 2008

22 Jan 2008


22nd January 2008

Episcopal Ordination of Bishop–elect Brendan Kelly for the Diocese of Achonry

You, or a representative, are invited to attend the Episcopal Ordination of the Right Reverend Monsignor Brendan Kelly as Bishop of Achonry.

Details: Time and date: 3:00pm on Sunday 27 January 2008 Venue: Cathedral of the Annunciation and St Nathy, Ballaghaderreen, Co Roscommon Consecrators: His Eminence Seán Cardinal Brady, Archbishop of Armagh and Primate of All Ireland, will be Principal-Consecrator at the Mass.Archbishop Michael Neary, the Archbishop of Tuam and Bishop Thomas Flynn, Bishop Emeritus of Achonry, are co-consecrators.

Members of the Irish Bishops’ Conference, priests from the dioceses of Achonry and Galway, classmates and friends of Monsignor Kelly, will concelebrate the Mass.

Notes for Editors

Monsignor Brendan Kelly was born at Derrybrien, Loughrea, Co Galway, on 20 May 1946, and was baptised on 26 May 1946. He is the son of the late Annie and Sean Kelly, NT, and the second in a family of nine children. He received the Sacrament of Confirmation at Craughwell, in the Diocese of Galway, on 28 May 1957.

Following his early education at Craughwell National School, he attended St Mary’s College, Galway, from 1959 to 1964. He began his studies for the priesthood at St Patrick’s College, Maynooth, in 1964 and was ordained a priest for the Diocese of Galway by the Most Rev Michael Browne in Galway Cathedral on 20 June 1971. While at Maynooth he was awarded the degree of Bachelor of Arts and that of Bachelor of Divinity, and he later obtained his Higher Diploma in Education at University College Galway in 1973.

Having served for a year as Curate in the Parish of Kinvara, Co Galway, he held a number of academic posts. From 1972 to 1980 he taught in the diocesan post-primary college, Coáliste Einde, and, similarly, from 1980 to 1986 in Our Lady’s College, Gort, of which he was subsequently President from 1986 to 1995.

In 1995/1996 he received Sabbatical leave and served as Chaplain to the “L’Arche” community at Cuise-la-Motte in France. In 1996 he was appointed Parish Priest of Lisdoonvarna, Co Clare, and on 19 June 2002 he was created a Canon of the Cathedral Chapter and became Vicar Forane for the deanery of Kilfenora.

From 2003 until the present day he has been Parish Priest of Spiddal, Co Galway. In 2005 he was also appointed Vicar General of the Diocese of Galway by the Most Rev Martin Drennan, and on 6 March 2006, Pope Benedict XVI conferred upon him the honour of Chaplain of His Holiness.

Further information:
Brenda Drumm, Communications Officer (087 233 7797)
Kathy Tynan, Communications Officer (086 817 5674)
Fr Vincent Sherlock, Diocesan Communications Officer (087 242 4253)